everyday musings for extraordinary women

crest-bda7b7a6e1b57bb9fb8ce9772b8faafb

Since today is Day 3 of National Novel Writing Month (Nanowrimo), I suppose I can go ahead and let you all know that I’m officially doing it this year.  I was going to let it pass.  There’s been so much going on, and I haven’t exactly been putting pen to paper very much   in the past couple of months.  I participated in 2010 and 2011, skipped 2012, and there really wasn’t anything moving me to do it this year.  I had already decided to finish my novel by my birthday, which is in December.  Yes, I was a holiday baby!  It makes perfect sense that I’m over-the-top when it comes to the holidays.  Anyway, let me get back on topic…As I was saying, I was ignoring all of the email reminders and prompts about Nanowrimo received throughout October.  I was definitely going to sit this year out, but my 15-year-old nephew called me late on October 1st to ask if I was going to participate.  He gave me a five minute synopsis of his novel and said I was his inspiration for participating in this daunting challenge of writing 50,000 words in 30 days.  While I was happy to hear that he had decided to work on his own novel, I wasn’t thrilled about joining the frenzy that surrounds Nanowrimo each year.

I went to bed, but my mind was restless. I honestly believe I had a dream about word counts and the dreaded feeling of being behind because I didn’t make my daily goal.  November 1st was a banner day.  While I was obsessing over soy nog, I was also feeling the growing urge to write 1667 words before midnight! Plus I’d talked my 16-year-old son into joining in on the fun, too.

The first time I sat down to write was during dinner with my husband.  It was rude, but necessary.  The sun was going down, and I hadn’t even written one word!  I knew from previous years that writers around the world were already in the 1000s.  Many were shooting for 10K in the first 24 hours.  I try to avoid looking at the stats for these folks.  I’m secretly grateful that no one in this group has added me to their buddy list.  They make me a little sick to my stomach, and I mean that in a good way.  There’s very little that I feel true envy about.  These super writers hold a special place of honor in my world.  I’m still trying to get fast enough to write 1000 words in 30 minutes, but I’m nowhere near that pace.  I’m too much of a perfectionist.  The editor in my just won’t shut up!

Back to the dinner table…My husband ordered his food and ate.  I ordered nothing, ate nothing, and ignored him.  I had to do it.  I couldn’t socialize with him and write.  Time was not on my side.  I already felt tired, but my novel was calling to me. Thirty minutes later, when he announced that he was ready to go, I had over 350 words.  That was the moment when my 2013 Nanowrimo experience began.

Day 3:  5521 words and counting…

What do you think?

Tag Cloud

realtalented

Im here to expose true talent

The Official Website of Rachel Kelley

For all the newest updates on the author's works.

Jambo Robyn

Stories about ordinary things

Welcome to our MindMedicine blog!

Helping people to awaken into the fullness of who we really are- in love and peace...

cancerkillingrecipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

Kendall F. Person, thepublicblogger

where writing is a performance art and every post is a show

Laura Y.

body & healing

thelovemanifesto

Real. Life. Experienced.

Hot Pink Underwear

Little secrets. My stories. Wanna see?

Afroculinaria

Exploring Culinary Traditions of Africa, African America and the African Diaspora

To Be Aware

It's all about disbelieving your thoughts

Villager at Large

The ramblings of a music obsessive and football tragic.

The Narcissist's Blog ©

I'm not an egomaniac I just like me best.

Secret Crushes

A blog on secret crushes, online dating and relationship advice

YOU'RE JUST A DUMBASS

Want to date smarter?

35andonlinedating

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Write my Romance

Crowdsourcing my dating life

Rub Hub: Tip me or Else...

Don't your hands eventually hurt? Yeah, actually, they do.

Dating Chic ♥

Dating should be less about matching outward circumstances than meeting your inner necessity....

Soul Starters

Defining Myself On My Own Terms

Ella Elle L'A

"Ella, she's got it"- Kate Ryan

clotildajamcracker

The wacky stories of a crazy lady.

Single & Happy

The Party of Ones

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Curly Miri

Antics & Adventures

How to Online Date

Just another WordPress.com site

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 116 other followers

